Carbon Saver Major Clients


Old adage - what gets measured gets managed. The first step in achieving the Carbon Saver Standard is to measure your carbon footprint. Measuring your carbon footprint involves three steps:-

Organisational Boundary

Organisations may apply for certification to cover all or part of their operations. Where the organisation chooses to apply for certification covering part of their operations they may choose to specify the coverage either:

Operational Boundary

Defining the operational boundary involves identifying which emission sources to include in the measurement. For the carbon Saver Standard the following 3 levels of footprint apply.

This provides a realistic and flexible approach. Organisations can start their carbon reduction journey with just onsite energy/fuel use and increase this to include owned transport and business travel. Additional emissions sources can be added to each footprint level, providing further flexibility. For example an organisation can include business travel in a level 1 footprint if they wish.

Level 1 footprint
The following emissions sources must be included:

Level 2 footprint
Emissions covered by level 1 plus:

Level 3 footprint
Emissions covered by level 2 plus:

Optional Emissions Sources
The following emissions sources can be included on an optional basis:

Sources from level 3 and/or 2 can be included in level 1 as desired. Remaining scope 3 emissions, including staff commuting, waste disposal, transport of purchased material and outsourced activities, etc. Same rules apply for level 2.